Paxahau Events announced the phase-one lineup for Movement Electronic Music Festival‘s 10-year anniversary on Wednesday (Jan. 20), with legendary electronic act Kraftwerk at the helm of the Detroit fest.

The seminal German group, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Grammys in 2014, will be joined by a stellar cast of techno’s finest, including Richie Hawtin, Adam Beyer, Maceo Plex, Seth Troxler, Tale of Us, Chris Liebing, Dubfire and more.

“Kraftwerk’s influence goes beyond electronic music — their sound revolutionized a multitude of genres and paved the way for many of the artists on this lineup,” says Paxahau artist coordinator Chuck Flask.

Other notable inclusions for the Memorial Day festival include Caribou and Four Tet, who will make their Movement debut, as well as Claude VonStroke and Green Velvet performing together as Get Real.

Detroit’s long-standing legacy as the birthplace of techno will be honored by performances from Carl Craig, Kevin Saunderson, and Stacey Pullen, as well as a rare collaborative effort from Juan Atkins and Moritz von Oswald as Borderland.

All in all, Movement has revealed 60 artists for its phase-one announcement. It’s a grand gesture, but one befitting of the festival’s ten-year anniversary since relaunching under Paxahau Event’s management in 2006.

“Looking back at how much the festival has grown over the past 10 years has been an incredible experience,” says Paxahau founder Jason Huvaere. “As the festival landscape continues to evolve, Movement’s founding principles and creative vision remain true to the music culture that inspires us.”

Movement Electronic Music Festival 2016 will take place from May 28-30 at Detroit’s Hart Plaza. Tickets are available now on Movement’s website.

Facebook Comments